Art + Culture

Sights in the City: Jamel Shabazz

During the summer of 1980, Jamel Shabazz armed himself with a Canon AE1 SLR camera and began to photograph the landscape of his native New York City.

Photographing in the streets put Shabazz right in the heart of all of the action; he carried his camera everywhere he went, from Harlem to Times Square, the Lower East Side to downtown Brooklyn, always set and at the ready. Like a fisherman seeking a fruitful catch, Shabazz ventured into locations full of life and uncertainty in hopes of capturing a unique moment.

  • TodayAnd again on:

    • Monday, May 29
    • Tuesday, May 30
    • Wednesday, May 31
    • Thursday, Jun 1
    • See All
      • Saturday, Jun 3
      • Sunday, Jun 4
      • Monday, Jun 5
      • Tuesday, Jun 6
      • Wednesday, Jun 7
      • Thursday, Jun 8
      • Friday, Jun 9
      • Saturday, Jun 10
      • Sunday, Jun 11
      • Monday, Jun 12
      • Tuesday, Jun 13
      • Wednesday, Jun 14
      • Thursday, Jun 15
      • Friday, Jun 16
      • Saturday, Jun 17
  • United Photo Industries
  • 16 Main Street Suite B
  • 718.801.8099
/.container