Art + Culture

Haley Morris-Cafiero: Wait Watchers

For Wait Watchers, Haley Morris-Cafiero set up a camera in a public area and photograph the scene as she perform mundane tasks while strangers pass by her. She then examined the images to see if any of the passersby had a critical or questioning element in their face or body language.

Haley considers her photographs a social experiment as she reverse the gaze back on to the stranger and place the viewer in the position of being a passive witness to a moment in time. She places the camera on a tripod and takes hundreds of photographs. The resulting images capture the gazer in a Cartier-Bresson, moment where the shutter, the scene, her actions and their body language align and are frozen on the frame.

Exhibition ends April 21st.

  • TodayAnd again on:

    • Thursday, Mar 30
    • Friday, Mar 31
    • Saturday, Apr 1
    • Sunday, Apr 2
    • See All
      • Tuesday, Apr 4
      • Wednesday, Apr 5
      • Thursday, Apr 6
      • Friday, Apr 7
      • Saturday, Apr 8
      • Sunday, Apr 9
      • Monday, Apr 10
      • Tuesday, Apr 11
      • Wednesday, Apr 12
      • Thursday, Apr 13
      • Friday, Apr 14
      • Saturday, Apr 15
      • Sunday, Apr 16
      • Monday, Apr 17
      • Tuesday, Apr 18
      • Wednesday, Apr 19
      • Thursday, Apr 20
      • Friday, Apr 21
  • United Photo Industries
  • 16 Main Street Suite B
  • 718.801.8099
/.container