Art + Culture

Acqaunetta

In the new opera Acquanetta, the spirit of 1940s horror movies is turned inside out in a bravura, one-act deconstruction of the genre that explores how vision relates to identity. Characters include the mad scientist Doctor, the insistent Ape, the reluctant Brainy Woman, the visionary Director and the beautiful Acquanetta, aka Mildred Davenport, an actress who disguised her identity. Acquanetta examines the ways the movie camera manipulates how we see and are seen. In soaring, sometimes comic and always indelible songs that capture the heightened drama of horror films, these vivid characters reveal their inner longings and emotional shadows in what is ultimately a haunting meditation on the meaning of identity, transformation, stereotypes and typecasting, set in the heyday of Hollywood gloss.

Directed by Daniel Fish.

World Premiere, Chamber Version.

More information available here.

  • TodayAnd again on:

    • Wednesday, Jan 24
    • Thursday, Jan 25
    • Friday, Jan 26
    • Saturday, Jan 27
    • See All
      • Monday, Jan 29
      • Tuesday, Jan 30
      • Wednesday, Jan 31
      • Thursday, Feb 1
      • Friday, Feb 2
      • Saturday, Feb 3
      • Sunday, Feb 4
      • Monday, Feb 5
      • Tuesday, Feb 6
      • Wednesday, Feb 7
      • Thursday, Feb 8
      • Friday, Feb 9
      • Saturday, Feb 10
      • Sunday, Feb 11
      • Monday, Feb 12
      • Tuesday, Feb 13
      • Wednesday, Feb 14
      • Thursday, Feb 15
      • Friday, Feb 16
      • Saturday, Feb 17
      • Sunday, Feb 18
      • Monday, Feb 19
      • Tuesday, Feb 20
      • Wednesday, Feb 21
      • Thursday, Feb 22
      • Friday, Feb 23
      • Saturday, Feb 24
      • Sunday, Feb 25
      • Monday, Feb 26
      • Tuesday, Feb 27
      • Wednesday, Feb 28
      • Thursday, Mar 1
      • Friday, Mar 2
      • Saturday, Mar 3
      • Sunday, Mar 4
      • Monday, Mar 5
      • Tuesday, Mar 6
      • Wednesday, Mar 7
      • Thursday, Mar 8
      • Friday, Mar 9
      • Saturday, Mar 10
      • Sunday, Mar 11
      • Monday, Mar 12
      • Tuesday, Mar 13
      • Wednesday, Mar 14
      • Thursday, Mar 15
      • Friday, Mar 16
      • Saturday, Mar 17
      • Sunday, Mar 18
      • Monday, Mar 19
      • Tuesday, Mar 20
      • Wednesday, Mar 21
      • Thursday, Mar 22
      • Friday, Mar 23
      • Saturday, Mar 24
      • Sunday, Mar 25
      • Monday, Mar 26
      • Tuesday, Mar 27
      • Wednesday, Mar 28
      • Thursday, Mar 29
      • Friday, Mar 30
      • Saturday, Mar 31
      • Sunday, Apr 1
      • Monday, Apr 2
      • Tuesday, Apr 3
      • Wednesday, Apr 4
      • Thursday, Apr 5
      • Friday, Apr 6
      • Saturday, Apr 7
      • Sunday, Apr 8
      • Monday, Apr 9
      • Tuesday, Apr 10
      • Wednesday, Apr 11
      • Thursday, Apr 12
      • Friday, Apr 13
      • Saturday, Apr 14
      • Sunday, Apr 15
      • Monday, Apr 16
      • Tuesday, Apr 17
      • Wednesday, Apr 18
      • Thursday, Apr 19
  • Gelsey Kirkland Academy
  • 29 Jay Street
/.container